Personal · Thoughts

How Are My New Year’s Resolutions Going?

I made goals for myself for 2015.  I wrote a whole post about it in hopes that it will keep me accountable.  I made five simple, but somewhat challenging goals.  So how are my New Year’s resolutions going?  Am I actually succeeding in some of my goals?  

How are my new year's resolutions going

1. Read, read, read

I can firmly say that I have been doing so well on this goal.  I didn’t mark a specific number of books I want to have read over the past year, and you know what?  I think it makes it that much more enjoyable.  Not having a number define your goals is freeing.  I have completed 37 books thus far.  It may not seem like a lot, but compared to last year it is a huge difference.

I have read many great books and some not so great books.  You can read the full list of my completed books here.  I have reviews on some of them if you want to check it out! 

Nineteen Minutes book review

 

2. Concentrate more on the present.

This one has been more difficult than the previous resolution.  I’m prone to getting anxious on what will be and what might happen.  “Stay in the present” is one thing my counselor tells me time and time again.  It is important to focus where you are right now.  

I have been getting better at focusing on what is going on now and thanking God for His many blessings.  Being a chronic-worrier, this has been a great exercise for me to do everyday.  I highly suggest if you are ever feeling anxious about what might happen or anything about the future, take a deep breath and focus on the present.  It works.  

3. Lay off social media

Check and check!  At the beginning of January, I deleted my Snapchat and Twitter accounts.  I also deleted the Facebook app off of my phone.  Honestly, it is so nice to not be so focused on social media.  The only time I really am on social media platforms is for blogging, and if you follow me on Instagram, you will see that I have not been posting too often.  Sorry!  

I still want to decrease my time off of it though.  It is difficult because my generation focuses so much on social media.  I feel that is one of the few ways I can connect with others.  

 

4. Blog More

Compared to 2014, my blogging has been pretty consistent.  I am so joyful with how blogging has affected my life.  I couldn’t have dreamed meeting people with similar experiences and beliefs as me.  I am so thankful of the many blessings blogging has given me.

official-banner1.png

 

to…

sweetly petite banner 1

This year, I moved from a wordpress.com blog to a self-hosted blog which was huge.  It was quite the ordeal, but so so worth it.  I cannot be more happy with the way my blog looks now.

5. Never stopping

Even though I have my ups and downs, I am still in recovery, and I don’t ever plan on stopping.

Yesterday, for instance, ED’s voice was loud.  I haven’t been feeling good the past couple of days and neither has my mom or Rachel.  We all were at home resting and trying to fight a bug.  I abhor being still.  I have always been a person who likes to keep busy, but ED has taken it into overdrive.  It was hard for me to sit and just be.  

When I went to make dinner, I made something too small.  My mom gently told me that it was not enough.  I had to take a step back and confront ED.  Even though I have been sitting and lounging all day doesn’t mean that I need to restrict.  I may not be hungry, but my body needs energy.  I grabbed some more food and talked back to that evil little voice.

images-1

Sometimes (more times than I want to admit) I need a reminder.  I am grateful that my mom lovingly told me I needed more fuel.  As always (mostly *hehe*), she was right.  

So tell me…

  • Did you have goals for 2015?  If so, what were they?
  • Do you have a hard time staying off of social media?
  • What has been your favorite book that you read this year?

New Blog Signature

Speaking of social media…

Instagram- sweetlypetiteblog
Pinterest- sweetlypetite
Bloglovin’- sweetly-petite
Email- sweetlypetite1@gmail.com
Twitter- @sweetlypetite

 
4 thoughts on “How Are My New Year’s Resolutions Going?

  1. Mindlessly getting on social media is SUCH a bad habit of mine. It’s so easy to just start scrolling though my Instagram and FB feeds, especially on my phone, but I’m trying to be much more aware about it and I’ve been logging out of the apps every time, which has drastically decreased the amount I’ve bene spending on them!

    Like

  2. These are so wonderful! First off, good for you for setting yourself such wonderful, self-loving goals and for keeping yourself accountable with them at this point of the year! “I abhor being still”… yep… I hear ya. But speaking back to that voice and letting your mom gently give you that reminder – that’s fierce lady! So awesome. Keep showing that evil little voice who’s stronger.

    Like

  3. Wow, the social media one is always a fine balance for me. It is a good way for me to connect with people I don’t see very often, but I don’t EVER want it to take the place of my real relationships. ❤ Thank you for the reminder Alison!

    Like

Your thoughts here!

