Personal · Thoughts

Dearest Little One

This summer I have had the privilege of nannying a sweet 19 month old boy.  This little guy has been through quite a lot in his now 23 months.  He was born at 24 weeks weighing in at 1 lb. 5 oz.  He was a micro-preemie.  On top of the host of complications that comes with being born so early, he was diagnosed with cancer when he was only fourth months old.

I am elated to say that he is currently in remission and is doing very well, thanks be to God!  He is a very active toddler and he is learning all sorts of new things.  He is learning how to walk and eat.  Because of all of his complications, he has lots of things helping him thrive.  He has a gastronomy tube to help him get all of his nutrients, a series of medications, and a team of medical professionals helping him along on his journey.  Through all of this, I was able to get a hands on learning experience when it comes to medical needs for a child.  

11828746_882670078491290_1553891739709679876_n

This little one has made a great impact on my life.  I’m going to miss him so much when I head off to college in just a little bit.  Today is my last day nannying him.  I though I would share an open letter:

Dearest little one,

Although I have only known you for just four months, I can firmly say that my life has been made so much richer with your presence.

Saying that you changed my life would be an understatement.  You have made me wiser, stronger (literally, I feel like I have arms of steel now!), and an all-around better person.  Your sometimes gentle patience was such a great blessing when I was learning how to take care of you from learning how to attach the extension to your gastronomy tube button to your love for Sesame Street.

You have been through more in your little two years than most people will have to deal with until they are 60.  Your determination and strength never ceases to amaze me.  I sometimes ask myself how you can fit all of that tenacity in your tiny little body.

Seeing your bright blue eyes almost every morning was truly a gift.  Your toothy smile was just the cherry on top of the treasure you are.

I cannot describe how much I will miss you when I go off to college.  I will miss seeing you laugh at Elmo, seeing your face light up when I give you a cracker, and seeing you sign for “more”.  All of the little moments with you was such a gift.

I’m leaving so I can help other children like yourself who battle terrible medical diagnoses.  You have affirmed where I want my life to go- to be a medical professional, and for that, little one, I thank you so much.

I won’t be your nanny for awhile, but you can make sure that I am going to visit you as much as I can.  I cannot wait to see you grow up into a strong, healthy, intelligent young man.

I want you to remember, little one, that you are so special.  You have a purpose, and that you are very very much loved.

With my love.

No questions today- write a comment below on whatever is on your mind!

Have a great day,

New Blog Signature

Social Media

Instagram- sweetlypetiteblog
Pinterest- sweetlypetite
Bloglovin’- sweetly-petite
Email- sweetlypetite1@gmail.com
Twitter- @sweetlypetite

9 thoughts on “Dearest Little One

  1. This is so sweet (as you always are)! I know what it’s like to depart from a child who I’ve babysat for a long period of time. Difficult and bittersweet for sure. But I find it absolutely beautiful that you’ve learned so much from this little one. It is true that we learn the most from the little ones! ♥

    Like

Your thoughts here!

