books · Fun · Healthy Living · Personal · Thoughts

A Day in My Life

Hi everyone!  I hope this post find you all well.  I’ve been mulling over the idea of writing a day in my life post for awhile now.   I mean, what is so interesting about my day?  Honestly, my life is at a steady place which I am very grateful for.  

So I bit the bullet and here we are.  I wanted to write what my day was like when I’m not nannying.  My day is completely different when I nanny.  The day revolves around little J and he keeps me busy.  Isn’t he such a cutie pie?  I love him so much.

//platform.instagram.com/en_US/embeds.js

Without further ado, here is a typical summer day for me!  I know the day is going to look much different in about a month.  Maybe I will do a post then, also!

A Summer Day in My Life

6:13 My alarm goes off.  I snooze for a little bit, check out what the internets have been up to, and think about the day to come.

6:35 Get ready for the day.  Brushin’ teeth, washing my face, and all of that good stuff.  When I’m done in the bathroom, I go to change into my volunteer uniform.  I dabbed on some sunscreen and apply some mascara.  I’m not a big makeup person, so getting ready in the morning isn’t too strenuously long.

7:00 My favorite meal of the day… breakfast!  I had an english muffin with sunflower seed butter (which I just emptied.  Thankfully I have another jar!), cottage cheese, and some cherry craisins.  This is my favorite breakfast ever.  I need the energy to transport people for four hours!english muffin cottage cheese almond butter

7:30 Drive to the hospital, jam out to K-Love.  You know, the usual.

7:48 My shift doesn’t start until 8:00, but being a chronic worrier, type-A person, I get to destinations quite early.  I clock in, get some water, and say hi to the other transporters.

8:00-12:00 It was a fairly quiet day at the hospital.  It wasn’t as slow as the week before which I was so grateful for.  During my shift, I take patients to wherever they need to go throughout the hospital, carry specimens from surgery to the lab, help direct people, etc.  I love volunteering there.  It really affirms my desire to go into the medical field.

12:05 Drive home, jam out to K-Love… again.

12:25 Make myself some lunch.  I made a salad loaded with tons of stuff including tofu, carrots, mushrooms, goldfish crackers, and more.  I had a nice big yogurt to accompany it.  It was a very satisfying lunch.salad

1:15-4:00 I was in the process of making bread.  A family friend is coming to town tomorrow for his birthday and I wanted to make him my famous Rosemary Focaccia.  The night before, I have to make a biga.  The biga is essentially a starter to make bread.  

So, I start to make the actual bread.  It is time consuming and a lot of work, but the end is so worth it.

rosemary focaccia dough

Between the intervals of waiting for the dough to rise, I read Son by Lois Lowry.  It is the last book to The Giver quartet.  The Giver is one of my favorite books of all time so I am very excited to see what happens.  I didn’t particularly enjoy the middle two, but Son seems better than those but not nearly as good as The Giver.

source

3:00 I have an afternoon snack consisting of a bag Trader Joe’s kettle corn paired with a spoonful of almond butter.  ‘Twas delicious.

trader joe's kettle corn almond butter

4:00 I take the bread out of the oven (cue angelic singing) and talk with my mom.  When I get home or in this case, when she gets home, I love talking about our days together.  She truly is a blessing.

Rosemary Focaccia

4:30 Check out my syllabus for my Biology class coming up this fall.  I checked out the curriculum and I couldn’t be more excited.  In this class we will learn basic biology along with many other advanced subjects including cystic fibrosis, Hardy-Weinberg Equilibrium, pedigrees, enzyme catalysis, and more.  

source

I’m going to party hard with my biology research.

5:15 Eat dinner.  I have my usual- a chicken and swiss sandwich with steamed cauliflower, and a cookie.  

6:00 I clean my dishes and write a little.  

7:00 I head over to Kohls to look for some sweatshirts.  I got a $10 off coupon in the mail so I wanted to take full advantage of it.  Along with a sweatshirt, I got a sweater on clearance for $5 and some pajamas.

This is the sweatshirt I got.

8:00 I get in my pajamas and scroll through Instagram for a bit.  I noticed that my room was a bit messy to I tidied up a little bit.  Straightening up just makes me feel so much better.

8:30 I get my night snack- cheesecake ice cream with some cinnamon bun goldfish crackers.  I sit down with my yummy snack while I watch an episode of How I Met Your Mother.  


source

9:00 I take a shower and get ready for bed.  Again, the usual.

9:30 Ah, cozy bed.  Good night!

Yes, I go to bed quite early.  No, I don’t mind it.  I don’t function very well at night.  I’m more of an early bird.  Like the saying goes- “Early to bed, early to rise.” 

Questions for You

  • Are you more of a night owl or early bird?
  • Have you ever seen How I Met Your Mother?  If so, you are legen….wait for it….dary!
  • What do you like to do in your spare time.

New Blog Signature

Find me at

Instagram- sweetlypetiteblog
Pinterest- sweetlypetite
Bloglovinโ€™- sweetly-petite
Email- sweetlypetite1@gmail.com
Twitter- @sweetlypetite

 
6 thoughts on “A Day in My Life

  1. This year, I’ve turned into a night owl and early bird just to get everything done, but I’m working on getting myself to bed earlier since I pretty much have to wake up early no matter what ๐Ÿ™‚ I do love being awake before everyone else!

    And I love “day in the life posts.” Does that make me super nosy? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Your thoughts here!

