Recovery

Eating Disorder Recovery Playlist

Music changes lives.  Music has the opportunity to make one feel happy to feeling a bit blue.  It is a powerful outlet for artists and listeners alike.  

Music has impacted my recovery.  I absolutely love hearing inspirational songs that lift my mood.  I have a chosen few that has been helpful to me, and I hope that these songs might resonate with you- whether you have an eating disorder or not.

Eating Disorder Recovery Playlist

 

As stated above, this eating disorder recovery playlist is not exclusive to those with an ED.  I especially love these songs when I need some encouragement of some kind or another.

There is a variety of music from radio hits to “never heard that before” songs.  Most of the songs are easy listening so hopefully some of these songs with connect with you in some way.

A playlist of all the songs can be found on my YouTube channel here.

Fight Song by Rachel Platten

My power’s turned on
Starting right now I’ll be strong
I’ll play my fight song
And I don’t really care if nobody else believes
‘Cause I’ve still got a lot of fight left in me

I am in love with this song right now.  It is powerful and a great testimony of how eating disorder fighters need to believe in oneself and own their power to defeat the disease.

Overcomer by Mandisa

You’re an overcomer
Stay in the fight ‘til the final round
You’re not going under
‘Cause God is holding you right now

Faith has been probably the biggest part in my recovery.  God has given me strength to fight ED.  Eventually, I will be an overcomer!

You Are Loved (Don’t Give Up) by Josh Groban

Don’t give up
Because you are loved

Josh Groban has such an amazing voice.  He is one of my favorite artists because of his vocal abilities.  His song “You Are Loved” is like a warm hug.  You ARE loved!

Warrior by Demi Lovato

Out of the ashes, I’m burning like a fire
You can save your apologies, you’re nothing but a liar
I’ve got shame, I’ve got scars
That I will never show
I’m a survivor
In more ways than you know

I had to add a Demi Lovato song to this mix!  I love how she is such a big advocate for mental illnesses, especially eating disorders.  Her song spills redemption and truth.  ED is a liar.  If you are someone battling an illness, you are a survivor.

Little Things by One Direction

You’ve never loved your stomach or your thighs, the dimples in your back at the bottom of your spine
But I’ll love them endlessly

You’ll never love yourself half as much as I love you
And you’ll never treat yourself right darlin’ but I want you to
If I let you know I’m here for you
Maybe you’ll love yourself like I love you, oh

People who truly love you will still love you no matter your pant size or if your muscles are toned or not.  Love yourself despite your “flaws”.

Shake It Out by Florence + The Machine

And it’s hard to dance with a devil on your back
So shake him off, oh whoa

ED literally takes your life away.  That life is full of bright opportunities.  Shake it off and live.  When I hear this song, I can’t help but smile and dance a little.  Florence Welch’s voice is extremely powerful.

 Brave by Sara Bareilles

Maybe there’s a way out of the cage where you live
Maybe one of these days you can let the light in
Show me how big your brave is

This was the last song I heard before I went inpatient.  It still motivates me to this day to be brave and fight ED.

Recover by Natasha Bedingfield

We will recover 
The worst is behind 
And it hurts, but in time, I know that we will recover.

Recovery is a long, hard path to take, but it is the best thing you can do for yourself.  Choose recovery to pursue a life that you cannot have with ED

 

More Beautiful You by Jonny Diaz

And you were made with such care, your skin, your body and your hair
Are perfect just the way they are
There could never be a more beautiful you
Don’t buy the lies, disguises and hoops, they make you jump through
You were made to fill a purpose that only you could do
So there could never be a more beautiful you

You are beautifully unique.  Don’t let anyone take that away from you.  All of the “little things” that make you are there for a reason- to make you you!

 

Here Comes the Sun by The Beatles

Little darling, it’s been a long cold lonely winter
Little darling, it feels like years since it’s been here
Here comes the sun, here comes the sun
And I say it’s all right

This classic Beatles song fits beautifully in regards to eating disorder recovery.  When you choose life, you gain so much.  The sun does shine through the darkness.

Here is the link to my playlist if you would like an easy access way to listen to it.  Just click HERE!

Questions for You

  • What song pumps you up?
  • Who is your favorite artist?
  • Would you rather listen to classic rock or country?

Best wishes to all of you lovely people!

New Blog Signature

 

Stay Connected!

Instagram- sweetlypetiteblog
Pinterest- sweetlypetite
Bloglovin’- sweetly-petite
Email- sweetlypetite1@gmail.com
Twitter- @sweetlypetite

8 thoughts on “Eating Disorder Recovery Playlist

  1. I love fight song as well! It always motivates me whenever I listen to it, no matter what I am doing. I also love chandelier by Sia, the beat is just vey overwhelming and it makes me want to dance and jump from the rooftops :). Aweome playlist, will definitely be checking more of these songs out!

    Like

  2. This is wonderful! You Are Loved by Josh Groban is one of my favorites ♥ Oceans by Hillsong is also one of my favorite songs EVER. Unstoppable by Rascal Flatts is a great song too. K, I’m done.
    Besides a select few songs, I CANNOT stand country music. I love a lot of genres, but that’s not one of them.

    Like

  3. Wow, Alison. This is so powerful. I am always so happy to see your comments on my posts, and I had no idea that you, too, are in recovery. Thank you for sharing this – I love a lot of these songs (The Fight Song is so great), and I wish you the absolute very best in your recovery. I will be reading along as you continue to fight. If you ever want to talk about recovery, God, or life in general, I’d love to.

    I would love the password to your ED page, if you’d be willing to email it to me. My email is sara@saralaughed.com.

    Like

  4. Great playlist Alsion. They are all inspiring & motivating. Thanks for creating this playlist. I’ve been watching the videos here over & over again. II wont be tired watching these videos. Keep it up. Continue to support recovery from eating disorders.

    Like

Your thoughts here!

