Fun · Personal

A Day in the Windy City

Chicago, Chicago I will show you around
I love it bet your bottom dollar you’ll lose the blues in Chicago, Chicago…

Do you know why Chicago is nicknamed the “Windy City”?  Yes, it does get windy occasionally.  Illinois is pretty famous for erratic weather.  Back in the 1830s, a newspaper columnist coined local politicians of being “full of hot air” and because they were infamous for their long-winded political speeches.  Well now ya know.

A Day In Chicago

My new college roommate, J, and I planned to spend the day together so we decided to meet each other in the windy city.  I’ve been many times before and it is exciting each time I go there.  I took the train down.  You know you are getting close to the city when the trees outside grow few and far between.

Train to Chicago

The train was packed.  I was glad I was by myself because I could only find one seat.  As I settled in, I popped in my ear buds, read some Jane Eyre, and overheard a bunch of teenage boy’s conversation including,

“‘Do you put butter on your rice?’  ‘Who doesn’t?!'”

“Did you know it is national talk like a pirate day?  Arghh!”  

“‘Is there such thing as lemon chicken?’  ‘Yeah dude!’  ‘It is amazing.'”  

I was quite entertained to say the least.

I hurriedly got off and met with J with a smile.  We continued to walk towards Millennium Park to see the Cloud Gate also known as “The Bean”.

Cloud Gate The Bean

It was quite busy, but never the less J and I took the stereotypical selfie pictures and such.  Going under the bean is definitely a trippy experience.

IMG_5677

 I was very thankful that it was a sunny albeit cool day.  As we walked around the park we came to a Family Fun Center.  Not knowing what to expect, we went inside.  We ended up listening to a story while sitting in little kids chairs.  We are both 18.  No shame here.

We continued down Michigan Avenue also known as the “Magnificent Mile”.  It is a beautiful stretch, that I can say.

Chicago River

IMG_5684

If you are an architecture buff, you would love to see Chicago.  It has some of the most historic, unique buildings.  

As we were walking we passed by Dylan’s Candy Bar.  J wanted to go inside and check it out.  I was not opposed in the slightest.  It is like Willy Wonka decorated the place.  I kid you not.  

IMG_5686

 

The store itself was two stories full of whimsy and color.  The whole store was centered around a huge lollipop tree bursting with vivid colors.  The candy bar is circular shaped so everywhere you glance you see even more candy.  They had some really neat things it was hard not to get a little awe-struck.  There was a huge assortment of candy, including but not limited to, jelly beans, licorice, lollipops, M&Ms, etc. etc.  They even had handmade fudge rolls.  Aren’t they gorgeous?

IMG_5685

Each roll was like a little work of art.  Plus, the flavors sounded scrumptious.  Amaretto was calling my name.

J ended up stocking up on some licorice and we headed out in search of lunch.

We ended up going to foodlife at the Water Tower Place.  Water Tower Place is this eight story mall full of stores, restaurants, and such.  The concept for foodlife is interesting.  It is basically a food court, but you get a card when you walk in and you can choose from booths from sushi to comfort food to dessert.  You just order whatever you want and swipe your card.  When you are done, you head out and pay.

I went over by the salads.  I was not influenced by ED in the slightest, even before my ED I loved salads and how you can customize it and such.  Anyway, I went over by the booth to find…

IMG_5687

You had one job!

I got this monstrous salad consisting of fresh greens, tofu, carrots, black beans, mushrooms, edamame, and a sweet mustard vinaigrette.  I got a multigrain roll with butter for a side.  It was absolutely delicious.  I think it was the best salad I have ever had.  Plus, I challenged myself with a roll and butter.  Bread and butter is life, let’s be honest here.

IMG_5689

The size might deceive you, but I can assure that it was huge.  I definitely got my money’s worth!  J got some awesome looking tacos with beans and rice from the Mexican station and a smoothie from the juice/smoothie station.  

After filling our bellies with some delicious food we went shopping.  The Forever 21 there is really big, just like everything else in Chicago.  It is two stories full of cheap clothes.  I ended up getting a cardigan, a camisole, leggings, and a pullover sweater for $30.  Score!  

When we came into the mall, we saw a Lush store.  We made a point to go there when were done with lunch and such.  J knows all about Lush, I, however did not.  She showed me around the store.  If you haven’t been to a Lush store- you must at least once.  It smells so good in there and the integrity of their products is phenomenal.  All of the products are homemade, cruelty free, vegan, and chemical free.  

There were rows and rows of bath bombs, lotions, moisturizers, soaps, and so much more.  I decided to get one of their shampoo bars.  I cut my hair last year and I am definitely ready to grow it out again.  Unfortunately, it hasn’t been growing as fast as I would like.  J advised me on getting a certain one.  This particular shampoo bar (it doesn’t have a name) is supposed to help stimulate the scalp to help hair grow.  I didn’t know if it would work or not, but I liked the smell of it.  It’s worth a shot.

As we were walking around I am almost positive (like 98%) I saw Giuliana Rancic.  J thought she saw Blake Lively earlier, also.  My first celebrity spotting!  When in the city…

Afterwards we headed down to Eataly where I showed J around.  She wanted to see the Nutella bar.  I love nut butters, but I am not the biggest fan of Nutella.  If it is between almond butter and Nutella, almond butter is going to win any day.  However, I do like the occasional spoonful of hazelnut-chocolate goodness.  

As we were heading back down by the station, we got caught up in a protest.  Mind you, I had absolutely no idea this was going on.  J was just eating her sorbetti as we were chatting and then bam! we walked right in the middle of a protest in the middle of the sidewalk.  It was apparently for the Bosnian Genocide that took place July 11-13, 1995.  I had absolutely no idea there was a genocide in Bosnia.  It goes to show that sometimes, we get so caught up in our own lives.  

It was time for a snack, so J and I stopped in the Protein Bar.  I order a Millennium Perk which consisted of chocolate protein, espresso protein, almond milk, and house-made cocoa malt.  It was absolutely delicious and the perfect pick me up.

millennium perk

It was 3 o’clock and I had to catch my train that was leaving in half an hour.  We sped walked and then sprinted back to the station where we said our goodbyes and left.

I haven’t ran in years.  Literally.  So that run really tired me out.  I found a seat, set my goodies from the mall beside me, and put my feet up.  Aaaah.

Train ride back home feet up

I could not have asked for a more eventful, wonderful day with J.  We got to discover so much about each other and just talk.  I’m delighted to have her as my first college roommate.  The future holds so much out there, and it is only possible because I chose recovery. 

Questions for You

  • Have you ever seen a celebrity?
  • Where do you like to visit?
  • Protein shakes.  Yay or nay?

Best,

New Blog Signature

 

Keep in Touch!

Instagram- sweetlypetiteblog
Pinterest- sweetlypetite
Bloglovin’- sweetly-petite
Email- sweetlypetite1@gmail.com
Twitter- @sweetlypetite

 

10 thoughts on “A Day in the Windy City

  1. SO FUN! This sounds so similar to a day I could have in NYC. Everything looks and sounds delicious, and I am so excited for you and your roommate! It sounds like you both had a blast πŸ™‚
    I do love protein smoothies, but the protein powder has to be good! Also, let me know if that cinnamon hair scrub thing from LUSH works! I’ve heard about it before, but I never bought it because I was skeptical.
    Lastly, can I just tell you how amazing your writing is? You and Julia have two of the most eloquent blogs out thereβ€” I feel like I’m reading a well-written novel!

    Like

    1. You are so incredibly kind, Alison. Your comment made me grin from ear to ear. πŸ™‚ I will definitely keep you updated on the shampoo bar status. What kind of protein powders do you enjoy? I have a hard time finding some without artificial sweeteners.

      Like

  2. What a fun day… just going to the ‘usual’ places like the mall or out to eat with a friend can make the biggest difference. Your salad looked perfect, I so want it right now! Lush is pretty awesome, however it is hard for me to convince myself to spend that much money on self-care, the things are just so nice though!
    I wish I had a protein bar next to where I live, love me some protein shakes :).

    Like

  3. Hi Alison! Long time no comment πŸ™‚ It looks like you had a lot of fun in Chicago! I’ve never seen a celebrity before… at least, I’m almost certain I haven’t. The place I want to visit most is Wales or Scotland, and I love protein smoothies… IF they’re well made! I myself am also a huge fan of Lush – I used to do a lot of work experience there in exchange for free goods πŸ˜‰ You can never go wrong with Lush!

    Like

  4. Your trip looks absolutely AMAZING!! I am so excited for you and what lies ahead! It sounds like you have a wonderful roommate and are going to have great time. I have never been to Chicago, but after reading this I definitely want to go.

    Like

Your thoughts here!

