books · Currently · Thoughts

Five Things Friday IV

Hi there, and a happy Friday to you!  Who is excited for the weekend?  I know I am.  I’m going to visit my future home (college!) again this Sunday and I cannot wait.  

Five Things Friday

 

I’m going to switch up this Five Things Friday post a little bit.  Instead of writing about five random thoughts in my head (hello randomness), I am going to list five books that I’ve been wanting to read.

I will provide summaries from Goodreads to let you all know what the book is about 😊.  Are you guys not following me on Goodreads?  Click here!

1. Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

After reading Big Little Lies, I cannot wait to read some of Moriarty’s other books.  Her style of writing is near flawless and if the plot of this book is half as good as Big Little Lies, then this will be great!

source

Imagine that your husband wrote you a letter, to be opened after his death. Imagine, too, that the letter contains his deepest, darkest secret—something with the potential to destroy not just the life you built together, but the lives of others as well. Imagine, then, that you stumble across that letter while your husband is still very much alive. . . .
Cecilia Fitzpatrick has achieved it all—she’s an incredibly successful businesswoman, a pillar of her small community, and a devoted wife and mother. Her life is as orderly and spotless as her home. But that letter is about to change everything, and not just for her: Rachel and Tess barely know Cecilia—or each other—but they too are about to feel the earth-shattering repercussions of her husband’s secret. –Goodreads “

2. Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers

I recently just finished another book of hers, Bridge to Haven.  Francine Rivers is a Christian author that centers her books around biblical stories and Christian beliefs.  Redeeming Love is particularly about the story of Hosea and Gomer in the book of Hosea.

After reading Hosea, I came to my theology teacher with some questions.  Long story short, she recommended this book to me as a more modern version of the classic biblical story.

source

California’s gold country, 1850. A time when men sold their souls for a bag of gold and women sold their bodies for a place to sleep.
Angel expects nothing from men but betrayal. Sold into prostitution as a child she survives by keeping her hatred alive. And what she hates most are the men who use her, leaving her empty and dead inside.
Then she meets Michael Hosea. A man who seeks his Father’s heart in everything, Michael obeys God’s call to marry Angel and to love her unconditionally. Slowly, day by day, he defies Angel’s every bitter expectation, until despite her resistance, her frozen heart begins to thaw.
But with her unexpected softening come overwhelming feelings of unworthiness and fear. And so Angel runs. Back to the darkness, away from her husband’s pursuing love, terrified of the truth she no longer can deny: Her final healing must come from the One who loves her even more than Michael does … the One who will never let her go. – Goodreads “

3. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

I have heard many good things about this book.  I’ve still yet to read it!

source

Marie-Laure lives with her father in Paris near the Museum of Natural History, where he works as the master of its thousands of locks. When she is six, Marie-Laure goes blind and her father builds a perfect miniature of their neighborhood so she can memorize it by touch and navigate her way home. When Marie-Laure is twelve, the Nazis occupy Paris, and father and daughter flee to the walled citadel of Saint-Malo, where Marie-Laure’s reclusive great-uncle lives in a tall house by the sea. With them they carry what might be the museum’s most valuable and dangerous jewel.
In a mining town in Germany, the orphan Werner grows up with his younger sister, enchanted by a crude radio they find. Werner becomes an expert at building and fixing these crucial new instruments, a talent that wins him a place at a brutal academy for Hitler Youth, then a special assignment to track the resistance. More and more aware of the human cost of his intelligence, Werner travels through the heart of the war and, finally, into Saint-Malo, where his story and Marie-Laure’s converge. –Goodreads

4. The Clocks by Agatha Christie

I have been on an “Agatha Chrisite” roll lately.  I am currently reading Murder on the Orient Express and am completely absorbed in the plot.  Also, I read And Then There Were None for my AP English class.  It is definitely is one of my favorite books!  Appointment with Murder was only okay.

If you haven’t read any of Agatha Christie’s novels- do so!  You are missing out on some awesome mystery novels.

source

When a young secretary, Sheila Webb, is sent to the home of a blind woman on an errand, she is horrified to discover a dead man behind the couch, surrounded by four clocks that have all been stopped at 4:13. 

The owner arrives home and denies that the clocks belong to her, the deceased’s business card turns out to be a fraud, and a woman shows up claiming to be the dead man’s wife.  –Goodreads

5. Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

After hearing Julia rave about this book, I have been wanting to read it.  Unfortunately, my library hasn’t had it available in over three weeks.  Once it comes in, I’m snatching it up!

source

Fight Club’s estranged narrator leaves his lackluster job when he comes under the thrall of Tyler Durden, an enigmatic young man who holds secret boxing matches in the basement of bars. There two men fight “as long as they have to.” A gloriously original work that exposes what is at the core of our modern world. – Goodreads

Questions for You

  • What book are you currently reading?  
  • What are your plans for the weekend?

New Blog Signature

Stay in Touch!

Instagram- sweetlypetiteblog
Pinterest- sweetlypetite
Bloglovin’- sweetly-petite
Email- sweetlypetite1@gmail.com
Twitter- @sweetlypetite

 

2 thoughts on “Five Things Friday IV

  1. I have never gotten a chance to tell you, but I enjoy your blog theme! Green is my favorite color, therefore it is easy to please me. 🙂

    It appears as though the entire blogging world is on a Moriarty kick, so maybe I should give her a try. I am not a fan of the “girly” genre but I have not heard any negative reviews. Hmmmm… Anyway, YES read Fight Club. Read it now. Just a heads up, it is MUCH more vulgar than any of the other books listed here. I am not sure how old you are (sorry, I forgot!), but if you are younger than sixteen or seventeen, I’d suggest holding off on it for a while. It’s a heavy book, and I know I would not have appreciated it as much had I been younger when I read it.

    With all that said, I hope you have a fantastic weekend Alison! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Julia! I am a big fan of teal as you can probably tell!
      I’m 18, so I look much younger than I really am. Thanks for the heads up about Fight Club. I read a whole array of books so I’m sure it’ll be a very interesting read. I was never a fan of girly books either, but after reading Big Little Lies, I am convinced that Liane lives up to her name in the blogger world. 😉 I definitely suggest giving it a shot.
      Have a wonderful weekend as well, Julia! xx

      Like

Your thoughts here!

