Recovery

To Eat or Not To Eat

Eating disorder recovery is not a sprint, it is a marathon.  A long, strenuous, but very rewarding marathon. There are many peaks and valleys when it comes to conquering E.D.  One of the most difficult things to overcome is deciding to eat or not.  This is one of the first steps of recovery… choosing to fight and then proceeding to do so.  

To Eat or Not to Eat

 

“Should I eat?  Should I not?” are questions that frequently floats through a person’s mind who is recovering.  I found myself asking this constantly at the start of my recovery.  I still ask this question more frequently than I should.  It is taunting and exhausting when that is all you think about.

It needs to stop.

Food is not the main reason why someone has an eating disorder.  Using food in a negative way is a side effect to this nasty disease.  Eating is something to be conquered along with accepting that you do not have control over everything.  

When you ask yourself, “Should I eat?”  The answer is always yes.

Your body needs all the nutrients it can get to repair your weakened body.  Your body needs the fuel to keep you alive.  Your body needs carbohydrates, fats, sugars, vitamins, and minerals to function properly.  Don’t deprive your body of that.


source

Are you hungry? Nourish yourself.  If you aren’t hungry, but you know you need to eat, take a spoonful of some goodness lift in in your mouth and empower yourself.

Food is not the enemy and it will never be.  That ED voice inside your head is full of lies and deceit.  You are good enough.  You are worthy.  You are loved.

You are allowed to eat what you want when you want it.  ED shouldn’t decide that… you should!  If anyone else tells you different then they can just walk away.

You want that Ben and Jerry’s?  Eat it!  Are you craving a nice bowl of kale with vinaigrette?  Eat it!  It is not bad to crave things and it is not bad to nourish your cravings.

Your body knows what is best for you.  Take time and listen.  The human body is absolutely incredible.  It does things without your knowledge.  When you get hunger cues, you know that your body needs to refuel.  Please don’t deprive it of something it needs to make you be the wonderful person you are.

Keep fighting and don’t lose hope.

New Blog SignatureStay Connected!

Instagram- sweetlypetiteblog
Pinterest- sweetlypetite
Bloglovin’- sweetly-petite
Email- sweetlypetite1@gmail.com
Twitter- @sweetlypetite

**disclaimer- I am not a medical professional in anyway.  This advice is strictly from my experience battling anorexia. 

10 thoughts on “To Eat or Not To Eat

  1. Before I even read this post my head was yelling eat eat eat! One of the biggest parts of ED recovery is giving yourself permission to eat and honour your cravings and needs. I used to force foods down that I didn’t like, all in the name of health and to avoid weight gain (that was desperately needed!), but since opening up my diet, I now crave healthy and unhealthy foods, and my body is awesome at finding a great balance! I’ve just stumbled across your blog btw, and I love it!

    Like

Your thoughts here!

