Fashion & Beauty

Beauty “Empties”

I usually don’t incorporate makeup/beauty in my blog that often, but I decided to change that.  I had some beauty products that I used up, hence the “empties”, and I thought I would share them with you all!

Beauty Empties

 

Some of these products really surprised me… in good ways and bad.  There is a nice mix of face, eye, and lip products that were used.  

Starting with the face-

Covergirl CG Smoothers in 705 Fair to Light

I don’t like wearing a ton of makeup.  I bought this CG Smoothers just to have this on hand when I wanted some cover-up.  

This product doesn’t have the greatest quality.  It is technically called foundation, but the coverage could barely qualify as a tinted moisturizer.  It doesn’t last very long at all.

Overall, I wouldn’t buy this again.  There just wasn’t enough benefits for me to purchase again.

Covergirl CG Smoothers

ELF Tone Correcting Powder

This is my go to powder.  At only $3, this is a steal.  The ELF Tone Correcting Powder (also known as Complexion Perfection) is a translucent powder than evens out skin tone while mattifying (is that even a word?  Let’s roll with it) your face.  It evens out the skin tone because it has four undertone shades.

I have been buying and re-buying this powder for almost 5 years.  It is light on the skin and it doesn’t leave one’s face looking powdery.  I will definitely be purchasing this product again.

ELF Tone Correcting Powder

Sephora Pearl Face Mask

I bought this on a whim.  I put this in my online basket in order to get the minimum price for free shipping.  I wasn’t expecting too much, but I was hoping it would be a nice treat.

It was.  This mask was wonderful.  The package is beautiful and simple.  When I took it out of the package there was no potent odor.  It just smelled fresh.  the only downfall to this mask is that it is difficult to unfold.  I had to be careful to not tear it.

I put it on my face and left it on for the recommended 20 minutes.  Afterwards, my face felt clean and sparkling.  My skin was noticeably softer and smoother.  I didn’t even have to rinse my face afterwards.

I cannot wait to try all the other masks.  I have my eye on the green tea mask.

Sephora Pearl Face Mask

Revlon Color Stay Liquid Liner in Blackest Black 

I love using liquid eyeliner to make the perfect cat eye.  Liquid eyeliner is hard to get use to but it is my favorite type of eyeliner.  I rarely use eyeliner, but when I do, I use this kind.

This Revlon eyeliner doesn’t have lasting power.  The liner as a whole dried out within a month so I didn’t get much use of it.  When it is on the eye, the color doesn’t stay (like the name implies.)  The color starts to fade after only a couple hours of wear.

What I do enjoy about the liner is that the tip of the applicator is thin and sturdy which helps make a precise line.

I was really disappointed in this eyeliner.  I am in search for a pigmented, long-lasting liquid eyeliner.  Any suggestions?

Revlon Colorstay Liquid Liner

L’Oreal Voluminous Million Lashes Mascara

This is my favorite mascara of all time!  I don’t know about you, but I was on a quest to find the best mascara.  One mascara may be wonderful for someone, but not the best for another.  Each mascara is unique and works better for different people.

This is my holy grail of mascaras.  It separates my eyelashes and gives gives them volume.  When I go to take it off at the end of the day, it it is super easy.  I don’t even need makeup remover.  (Need a inexpensive makeup remover?  Click here!  You can make your own!)

If you are looking for a new mascara, I highly suggest this L’Oreal mascara.  I believe it is $8 at Walmart.  For a mascara, it is very affordable for the quality.

L'Oreal Voluminous Million Lashes Mascara

Bobbi Brown Lash Glamour Extreme Lengthening Mascara

I don’t buy a ton of high end makeup.  For me, I just don’t like to spend a copious amount of money on something I wash off at the end of the day.  I got this as a sample when I ordered a concealer.  

This mascara is neither lengthening nor easy to wash off.  When I go to wipe it off it stains my face.  I like my mascaras to be no-fuss but still look nice.  I will not be buying the full size.

Bobbi Brown Extreme Lengthening Mascara

EOS Lip Balm in Raspberry Pomegranate 

I discovered EOS lip balms about four years ago from beauty gurus on YouTube.  Ever since then I have been hunting to find all of the “flavors.”  Raspberry Pomegranate has to be one of my top three.

It is both refreshing and hydrating.  The scent is lovely.  There is no bitter taste if it gets on your teeth and such.  Will I repurchase again?  Yes!

EOS Raspberry Pomegranate Lip Balm

Sephora Color Reveal Lip Balm

Color changing lip balm has been around for awhile I believe.  I haven’t gotten one until I got a sample of one at Sephora.  

This lip balm is so fun!  The color is unique to every person.  For me, it changed to a deep, almost rosey pink.  For my mom, it changed to a beautiful pale pink.  No matter what the color changes, it compliments the person.

The texture is thin and slick.  It doesn’t do well moisturizing the lips, but it looks very pretty.  I bought a full size one, actually.  The science behind it just fascinates me.  #sciencenerdprobs

Sephora Color Changing Lip Balm

 

Now it’s your turn!

  • Have you ever tried a face mask?
  • Lip balm or lipgloss?
  • Have you ever tried making your own makeup remover?

Until next time,

New Blog Signature

 

Follow Me!

Instagram- sweetlypetiteblog
Pinterest- sweetlypetite
Bloglovin’- sweetly-petite
Email- sweetlypetite1@gmail.com
Twitter- @sweetlypetite

2 thoughts on “Beauty “Empties”

  1. This is an awesome post, especially since I’ve been looking into makeup and beauty products as of late.

    I’m always on the look-out for great concealers, or correcting powders, and I’ll definitely look into the ELF Tone Correcting Powder. I’m glad that you said it’s light on the skin. I can’t stand that feeling some concealers leave on the skin, as if you hadn’t washed your face in weeks — and spent those weeks in the Amazonian jungle. Not good.

    You have such patience, leaving on a face mask for 20 minutes! Sephora’s face masks are something that I want to try, however, so I guess I’ll man up, so to speak, and try to keep my cats away from me. Also, L’Oreal’s mascara sounds like a great deal, and within my budget. Definitely another product that I’ll look into.

    The Sephora Color Reveal lip balm sounds like so much fun! The science behind it really is fascinating, and since I love pink…yeah, totally snatching up that one. I think it’s going to end up as a go-to lip balm, because of that science-y, fun aspect of it.

    Thank you so much for this nice post. You’ve pointed me in the direction of some pretty adorable looking products, and I’m definitely going to try the good ones out.

    –Abby Post

    Like

    1. I am so glad to hear that you got something out of this post! There were definitely some hits and misses. When I had the mask on, my dog, Gus, was following me everywhere! Just keep those kitties away and you’ll walk away with glowing skin 😉

      Like

Your thoughts here!

