Tutorials

Learn to Quilt! – Part 1 {Supplies You Will Need}

Hi everyone!  I have an awesome little series that I am so excited to share with all of you.  This has been a long time in the making, and I am pretty happy with how it turned out.

Learn to Quilt Step by Step

 

Not even two years ago, my lovely math teacher (who doesn’t teach at my school anymore *tears*) taught me to make a quilt for a service project we were doing.  If you don’t already know, I go to a small Christian school, so service projects like these come up quite frequently.  Our task was to make blankets to donate to the local hospitals in town.  We had two options- 1) Make a quilt or 2) Make a Tie Blanket.

I was the only one to choose option numero uno. (If you want to make a tie blanket, I have a whole tutorial on it!)

Ever since then, I have been quilting away.  It has actually done a tremendous service in terms of my ED recovery.  It is relaxing and it helps distract me from mean thoughts.  If you are looking for something fun, yet challenging, I highly suggest giving quilting a try!

IMG_4456IMG_3079

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Before we start, you are going to need some essential items to start off with.

Sewing Machine

Unless you want to do it by hand… which I do not recommend by any means!  All kidding aside, you don’t need a fancy sewing machine, just a basic one.

Brother Sewing Machine

 

I have the Brother Computerized 100-Stitch sewing machine.  It is not the cheapest, but it certainly isn’t the most expensive.  I have been using this machine for a little over a year and it is so easy to use, especially for a first time quilter.

Iron and Ironing Board

This is an absolute must for a quilter.  You are going to need to iron your fabric so that it is crisp and wrinkle-free so you can precisely cut the fabric.  You can find this at Target, Walmart, etc.

Iron and Board

 

Cutting Supplies

In order to cut your fabric the right size, you need the right equipment.  First, you need a

  • cutting mat
  • rotary cutter
  • long, acrylic ruler.

Cutting Supplies for Quilting

 

We will get into this more into depth in the “Making the Squares” section.  This method of cutting the fabric is the most precise and easy.  I bought these all separately, but I did some research and you can get a similar set on Amazon here.

Some Small Stuff

There are just a couple more things that you will need:

  • thread (start off with a white and black)
  • scissors (sewing grade is recommended)
  • pins and pin cushion
  • seam ripper
  • safety pins
  • water soluble marker (found in craft section)

Quilting Supplies

 

Fabric

Now, for the fun part!  For this particular quilt, you will need

  • 1/2 yard each of 5 complimentary fabrics
    • I chose a yellow, solid dark navy, gray moroccan pattern, light blue pattern, and a white type of fabric.
  • 1 1/2 yard of fabric for backing –more on this later–
    • I used a navy moroccan pattern
  • 1/2 yard of fabric for edging –more on this later–
    • I used a solid gray

Finished Quilt

Stay tuned for part 2 where you will learn how to iron and cut out the squares!

blog signature

8 thoughts on “Learn to Quilt! – Part 1 {Supplies You Will Need}

    1. Thank you! I never thought I could quilt, but when you take it step by step- it isn’t as daunting as you think it is. I can’t wait to show you the rest of the tutorial. 🙂 Take care, love!

      Like

  1. Wow! I would love to learn how to do this. Thanks for starting off slow instead of throwing it all at us at once. Maybe this will be one of my summer projects. I’ve always been nervous to start. And, I need to figure out how to fix our sewing machine.

    Like

  2. This is too cool! I have always wanted to learn how to quilt, but it seems so hard! I started making squares a while ago, but gave up before I got to the next stage. Thanks for writing this! I look forward to reading more in the series!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Sara! Making squares is one of the hardest parts.. seriously! Mine always seem to be lopsided 😉

      Like

Your thoughts here!

