books · Reviews

Book Review- The Two Lives of Miss Charlotte Merryweather

After reading Ben-Hur- a Tale of the Christ for school, I wanted to pick a nice, easy, enjoyable read to soothe my tired brain.  A few weeks before, I went to Good Will where I found three books.  The Two Lives of Miss Charlotte Merryweather was one of them.

I picked up the book after reading the summary on the back of the book:

Imagine if you could go back ten years and meet your younger self- would you recognize her?  What advice would you give her?
Wear sunscreen
Back away from those pleather pants
Don’t give that idiot your phone number
Lemon juice won’t bleach your hair, it just attracts wasps
He’s the one- don’t let him get away.

For Charlotte Merryweather, there’s no need to imagine.  She’s about to find out for real… with some surprising consequences.

The Two Lives of Miss Charlotte Merryweather is a deliciously charming romantic comedy that looks at life, love, and what might happen if you could turn back time at the wheel of a Volkswagen Beetle.

“Sounds interesting,” I thought, “just the type of book that I have been looking for.  Easy, but smart.. breezy, yet concrete.

Boy, was I wrong.  I was right, however, with it being an easy read.

The Two Lives of Miss Charlotte Merryweather

Charlotte Merryweather is your typical career woman- nice apartment, always stressed, constantly working…  She has a great job, a nice boyfriend with husband material, and lots of spending money.  But, she feels something is missing.

Driving in the streets of London, she catches a glimpse of a car that looks eerily familiar.  Charlotte realizes it was her car from 10 years ago.  Dumbfounded, she follows the car to find it heading straight to her own apartment.  There, she finds her 22 year old, self, “Lottie”.

Charlotte realizes after spending time with Lottie that she has changed.  A lot.  Charlotte begins to question her life- her job, decisions, boyfriend, etc.  Charlotte learns life lessons she would have never have learned if it wasn’t for Lottie.  

When I read a book that has something to do with time theories, I expect it to be well thought out and precise.  This wasn’t the case for The Two Lives of Miss Charlotte Merryweather.

I found the characters, even Charlotte with her two personas, to be lacking in any depth.  They were stale and one-dimensional.  Beatrice, Charlotte’s assistant, was the only character I was remotely interested in.

The plot wasn’t anything special.  It was a tad predictable.  It wasn’t the type of book that I was constantly reading, wanting desperately to know what happened.  There was no real exciting climax which was disappointing.

I’m not sure if I didn’t enjoy it because of my age (I’m 18) and I just need life experience or be in my 30s to understand and appreciate The Two Lives of Miss Charlotte Merryweather.  Maybe I’ll reread it when I’m 30 and see if I have a different view on it!

Until next time,

blog signature

2 thoughts on “Book Review- The Two Lives of Miss Charlotte Merryweather

Your thoughts here!

