Recipes · Tutorials

Paw Protectant Salve

This February has been extremely cold.. more than usual. I actually had a snow day (or I guess you can call it a cold day) because the temperature was -30 degrees out.  I felt so bad for Gus when he had to go outside to do his business.

IMG_6672

That’s Mr. Gus!  Isn’t he a cutie pie?

Sometimes when Gus was outside he would pick up his paws in pain because it was so cold out… he wouldn’t even be outside for a minute!  After seeing that happen, I knew I needed to do something.  I could knit him little booties.  “Nah,” I thought, “he’ll just kick them off.”  Thus, this recipe was born.

I looked into finding a balm for Gus’s paws during the winter months to keep them from soft and protected.  The few items I did find were ridiculously expensive.  No thanks.

This all natural paw protectant is all natural and can be made in the warmness of your own home!

Paw Protectant Salve

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 oz. beeswax
  • 2 Tbl. olive oil
  • 2 Tbl. coconut oil
  • Lavender essential oil (optional)

IMG_7392

In a double broiler, melt the beeswax.  A double broiler is essentially a bowl over a pot of boiling water. This prevents this from burning.
Tip: The water shouldn’t touch the bowl.

IMG_7393

Once the beeswax is melted, add the oils.  Mix until completely dissolved and incorporated.

Taking the bowl off of the pot, add 3-5 drops of lavender essential oil.

Store in a air-tight container and let cool completely until use on your friend’s paws.

IMG_7400

 

IMG_7404

 

This salve is great for the winter months as well as summer days.  Make sure to keep your pet happy and healthy!

IMG_6048From Gus and I, take care!

blog signature

 

5 thoughts on “Paw Protectant Salve

  1. I really love your blog 🙂 you are a very talented and beautiful blogger :]
    Keep blogging

    -k
    I would love it if you give my blog a chance 🙂 I post the newest and the most popular videos from the web 🙂 it would make me happy if I could cheer your day a little bit up for you 🙂 thanks

    Like

Your thoughts here!

