College · High School

Choosing a Major in High School

Where are you going to college?  What are you going to major in?  Did you get scholarships?  My cousin got a 34 on her ACT.. what did you get?  So and so got a full ride to Stanford!

Thinking about college is stressful and overwhelming.  The check list of “Things To Do to Get Into College” can seem long and daunting causing even more anxiety towards this new chapter in your life.

One thing that upperclassmen in high school feel that they need to figure out is what they are going to major in in college.  I am hear to tell you that you don’t have to choose just yet!

If you are wanting to explore some options and just think about it- here are a few tips to help you get starting into looking at the right path for you!

*Just a disclosure, I am not a college expert.  I am a senior in high school that is in the college journey herself.  These are some things that helped me.*

Choosing your Major

Before we begin, let’s clarify what a major is.

A major is your main area of study throughout college.  Most of your classes will revolve around getting the credits of certain classes you need to fulfill that major.

A minor is your other area of study that you focus on in your college career.  You won’t have to take as many classes as in your major classes, but it still requires quite a few classes throughout college.  Depending on the college, you might have to receive about 20 credit hours to earn a minor.

source

I want you to think about what you are passionate about.  Have you always been a book-worm?  Explore various Literature majors.  Do you want to reduce pollution in foreign countries?  Look into environmental or agricultural studies.  Whatever it is that you like, try to research different majors there are in that field.

I love learning about living things and anatomy.  I could look into Biochemistry, Biology, Animal Physiology, or even Botany.

What kind of classes did you enjoy in high school or middle school?  What classes are/were you actually interested in?  I have a classmate who loves English and all things Shakespeare- she was the one jumping out of her seat when she heard we are going to read Hamlet.  She is thinking about going into English and Education Studies to be a teacher.

My freshmen year I took Biology.  Every year since then I have actually missed my Biology class.  Yes, I may be a little odd.. But!  That was my all-time favorite class.  (Although Anatomy and Physiology is neck to neck…)


source

It might be a little scary, but try to look into the future for a second.  What would you see yourself doing and actually enjoying?  What do you want to accomplish with your life? Whatever that may be, see what college requirements others have had to do that job.

I want to go into Medicine.  Though I am not sure of what I want to do with that, I know that I need to have a biological science major in order to do something in that field.  I have the options of taking Chemistry, Biology, Biochemistry, etc.

Take an aptitude test to better see what you might do well in.  I highly suggest a website called What’s Next Illinois.  There, you can research every college, major, career, and you can even get help with making a resumé!  It is a handy website that I used quite frequently.  Here is the link to the aptitude tests on What’s Next Illinois.  (You have to create an account to take them.)

Screen Shot 2015-02-19 at 12.01.03 PM

I took the Career Cluster Survey and found I would be best suited for Health Science.  I could click on Health Science and explore all different types of careers in that field.

source

Remember, you do not need to choose a major in order to apply or get into colleges.  Did you know that 50% of college freshmen go into school with an undecided major?  Yep!  Don’t sweat it if you can’t figure out exactly what you want to do.

And when you are in college and decide this major/minor isn’t right for you, you can always change it.  Many many students change their major a couple different times before they solidify on one.

So tell me…

  • what are some of your tips to choosing a major?
  • (if you are/were in college) what did you major/minor in?

Take care!

blog signature

 

 

 

One thought on “Choosing a Major in High School

Your thoughts here!

