books

Book Review- Beauty in Christ

During the beginning of my recovery with anorexia, I wanted to find a book that encouraged me with recovery while holding up the Christian values that I have.  I searched and searched to no avail.  I was disappointed.  I wanted to know that there was somebody out there that was in my position that got through this with the help of Christ.

More than a year later, Emily Swanson reached out to me and told me about a book that she had written, Beauty in Christ- Freedom from the Idolatry of Body and Food.  The moment I read the title, I knew this was the book I have been searching for.

source

Beauty in Christ is a warm and encouraging book that feels that it is written especially for you.  Emily shares her story with disordered eating while shedding light on God’s grace.  The content is short, yet powerful.

Emily’s writing style is personal and simple, just as though a friend was talking to you at a local coffee shop.  She includes topics in her book such as what the Bible says about food, emotional struggles, and stories of other Christian girls recovering from their eating disorders.

God is the firm foundation that anchors this book.  Beauty in Christ is laced with Scripture- reaffirming her thoughts of recovery and insecurity.  For me, it was comforting to hear encouragement directed towards ED recovery while reading a verse from Scripture to go along with it.

The thing that really spoke to me was how we can glorify God through food and exercise.  We can glorify God by taking care of our bodies that He made for us.  Emily emphasizes the balance between restricting and binging to sloth and overexercising.  After seeing magazine covers and TV commercials advertising diets and unrealistic workouts, this was a breath of fresh air.

One of my favorite excerpts from the book was this- “God made people with individual needs, looks, and talents.  That is the beauty of diversity.  Yet, while we are all different, God made us this way in order to combine our gifts to glorify Him and build His kingdom.”  How true that is!

I highly recommend this book to fellow Christian sisters that are struggling with self-esteem issues, EDs, insecurity, and exercise.

I encourage you all to check out Emily’s website and see what she and the book are really about.

Take such great care,

blog signature

**Disclaimer: I was sent a complimentary copy of this book from the author.  Like all reviews, all opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “Book Review- Beauty in Christ

  1. Great review! I truly love reading and just finished “Redeeming Love” so I’m looking for another good read, especially one that is scripturally based and geared towards E.D recovery. I am recovering from anorexia myself, and actually write about it on my blog: agratefullifelived.blogspot.com. I hope you might check it out sometime. I wish you the best in your recovery and God bless!

    Like

    1. Ohh! I will definitely look into “Redeeming Love”. Thank you for the recommendation! I wish you the very best in your recovery also. Take great care Hannah and thank you for kind words. 🙂

      Like

Your thoughts here!

