Personal

Celebrating 18 Years

Hi everyone!  I hope you all had a wonderful day.  I want to take the time to appreciate what I take for granted every day- life.

Yesterday I celebrated my 18th birthday.  Yesterday I became an official adult.  But, yesterday was just another day in my journey through life.  I am incredibly blessed to be here today, happy and healthy and anxiously awaiting what my future has in store.

I wasn’t always happy nor healthy, in fact, I was fighting for my life not even two years ago.  Anorexia,  depression, and anxiety corrupted everyday life.  When I was in the midst of it, I didn’t think about the future, not even celebrating my 18th birthday.

But, I am here.  I am here because of God, family, and my support team.  For that, I am truly grateful.  I can now appreciate everyone around me and the relationships I have with them.  Hebrews 10:24-25 says “And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.”

I was born in the middle of the night, so when I woke up I was “technically” 18.  😉  I had school that day, so it seemed like just another morning.  When I got to school, I was greeted with a surprise:

Locker decoration

My sweet sister, Rachel, decorated my locker for me.  She decked it out in tiffany blue, my favorite color.  She is quite the artist, so here little sign was a beautiful touch.

I went through the rest of my day hearing a “Happy Birthday” every so often.  Last year I barely got a murmur, so this year was refreshing and sweet.

I got home to have Rachel surprise me with my present- a Benefit Duo- a lip blam and a cheek stain with The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath.  It was so sweet of her to all that she did.

I ended the night with a “Birthday Blizzard” while watching Scandal with my beautiful mother and Mr. Gus (my adorable doggie).

image

I’m not one for cake so the Butterfingers Blizzard really hit the spot.

Then, something happened to me this morning that surprised me tremendously. A sweet girl at school gave me a beautiful bouquet of flowers for my birthday.  She wasn’t at school for the actual day.

image

As I stared at the wonderful flowers, I started to think of what brought me here today.  Through all the trials and tribulations that I have faced in my young life, it brought me to where I am exactly suppose to be.  I have many more challenges ahead, but the past and present are here to help us navigate into the unknown.

It’s your turn!

  • What treat do you like to have on your birthday?
  • Has a gift or gesture ever taken your breath away?

Take care you guys!

blog signature

4 thoughts on “Celebrating 18 Years

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! I hope you had a fantastic day. Those flowers are such a sweet gesture – friends who do things like that are so awesome! My birthday was a few months ago and I think my favorite part of it was that one of my best friends had a lot of my friends write sweet notes and then she gave me an album to put them in. Happy happy birthday to you again sweet girl ❤

    Like

  2. Welcome to adulthood, Alison! Actually, my birthday was on Tuesday. I turned 20. I’m officially done with being a “teenager” forever now, I guess. I’m honestly not a huge fan of cake either, so in my family we usually just go out to one of our favorite restaurants for dinner. I chose sushi, naturally.
    I am sure your struggles have only served to make you stronger and wise beyond your years. You have so many great things ahead of you, girl. I am still battling my ED and I have quite a ways to go, but I am always a work in progress. 🙂 I hope you had a fabulous birthday!

    Like

Your thoughts here!

