books

Book Review: Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

I’ve been on a reading-kick these past few weeks and I love it!  Getting lost into other worlds where my problems don’t lay is therapeutic.

I was looking for an easy yet enjoyable book during the first week of school.  My wish was answered when I stumbled upon Meg’s review on this book.  I’m so glad I found her blog, it is excellent.

Big Little Lies was everything I wanted to read and then some.  Moriarty intricately composes a story of a group of mothers of kindergarteners.

source

There is Madeline, the seasoned “pro”.  She’s confident, spunky, and friendly.  Madeline runs into a new, and much younger mom, Jane.  On the first day of school for their little ones, Jane gets Madeline out of a sticky situation.  Being the sociable person she is, Madeline takes her under her wing where Jane meets Madeline’s close friend, Celeste- a beautiful mom who seems to have her head in the clouds.

Everything is pretty normal in the quite Australian town until that first day of school where predicaments keep piling up until it all falls over at Trivia Night.  Something went terribly wrong.. but what?  The series of twists and turns made me gasp at what actually happened.

Big Little Lies is a fast-paced and engaging book… I read this 400 page book in two days.  It was hard to step away from the story.

One of my favorite things about the book is that a series of supporting characters speak at the end of the chapter reminiscing what already happen.  It was very reminiscent of a Greek epic.  It was a fun and unique element that I enjoyed.

I didn’t expect too much from this book.  Why?  I’m not entirely sure, but I am so glad I read it.  I snuggled up in a blanket and watched the snow fall as I read it.  Bliss.

blog signature

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

  1. So glad you loved the book, too, and thank you for the kind words! Your point about the Greek chorus is so true — very spot-on. I really loved those snippets of the interviews at the beginning of each chapter . . . really kept me on my seat! And I agree: it was hard to put down! The first race-until-you-finish book I’ve read in forever.

    Like

Your thoughts here!

