books

Book Review- Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald

The Roaring ’20s fascinates me.  The elegance, the seamless release of inhibitions, the style, the rise of feminism… there is something magical about that era.

Have you read/seen The Great Gatsby?  It is the iconic novel that captured the essence of love, ecstasy, and sin of the 1920s.  (If you haven’t already, I highly recommend it!)  That iconic book was written by the ever interesting F. Scott Fitzgerald.  Z is a story about his wife’s life and journey through life.  Introducing Zelda Sayre Fitzgerald.

 

Therese Anne Fowler writes Zelda’s biography from Zelda’s point of view.  The novel essentially starts on the cusp of Zelda’s 18th birthday.  It depicts her fascinating life as Zelda Sayre of Montgomery to the misunderstood wife of a writer to a talented ballet dancer.

I know I mustn’t judge a book by its cover, but how could I not when the simple, yet elegant cover caught my eye?  Like the cover, the story itself is elegant, but it is also thorough.  There are many different stories that circulate about Zelda, and I feel Fowler did her research well.  Z, I feel, sets the record straight about Zelda’s life.

After reading the book I felt as though Zelda was a family friend.  It was personal, deep, and moving.  I found myself tearing up as she went through trials.  I found myself rooting for Zelda not only to be happy, but to be the independent woman see could have been.

 

From left to right- Scott, Scottie (daughter), and Zelda.

 

Z is a book that reminds me of a read that I would travel with- breezy and fast and great.  It had depth.  It didn’t sugarcoat Scott’s alcoholism or Zelda’s depression and bipolar disorder, but it wasn’t too descriptive.   Ms. Fowler did a great job having boundaries with the characters, and that I appreciated.

Z is an especially interesting read for those who have already read one/some of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s works.  If you have… can you see any connections?

Now, it’s your turn!

  • What book are you reading now?
  • What do you already know about the effervescent Zelda?

Best wishes,

blog signature

 

Photo Credit
– Book Cover: goodreads.com
– Fitzgerald Photo- images.huffingtonpost.com

Your thoughts here!

