Healthy Living · Reviews

Luna Bar Review- Part 3

I have three more flavors of Luna Bars that I have to share my opinions with you all!  If you haven’t read already, but here is part one and part two of my past Luna Bar reviews.  This series has been a long time in the making, but by golly, I’m getting there!

Luna Bar Review

Disclaimer:  Luna is not sponsoring this post or the last two in any way.  These bars have been purchased by me.  Reviews will always be my utmost honest opinion.

This will be a “chocolate themed” post.  I love chocolate.  (I, however, don’t like chocolate ice cream.  Imagine that?)  Luna has quite a few chocolate flavored bars, but these three are the most chocolatey of the bunch.

IMG_6713

This is Luna’s new flavor that they have recently released.  The moment I saw it at my local grocery store, I immediately grabbed three- one for my mom, one for my sister, and one for me.  It caught me off guard because I had no idea that they released a new bar.  Needless to say, I was so excited to try a new flavor.

I’m not one for cake/cupcakes.  If I want to treat myself, I treat myself with ice cream.  However, I believe this bar surpasses a regular chocolate cupcake.  It has the flavor of a delectable chocolate cupcake with having an even better texture.

IMG_6715

Everything about this bar is chocolate- chocolate drizzle, chocolate glazed bottom, etc.  If you are not one for chocolate, this flavor isn’t one you would enjoy very much- that I can guarantee.

IMG_6716

My favorite part of Luna’s Chocolate Cupcake is the texture.  It is incredibly soft on the top, like a delicate, thin layer of frosting.  The middle is crunchy, yet soft and very easy to eat.

Chocolate Cupcake
My Rating: 3.5/5 stars

IMG_6681

I tried this bar with the thought of having a heavenly mix of chocolate and nuts.  Boy, was I wrong.  Nutz Over Chocolate Lacked in both the nut and chocolate department.

IMG_6687

The glaze on the bottom of the bar is the only thing that provides a chocolate flavor, and it is a pretty weak flavor at that.  There are itty bitty pieces of peanuts intertwined in the body of the bar.

IMG_6689

There is no distinct chocolate or nut flavor.  Overall, it is really bland.  Also, the only “nutz” in the mix is peanuts.  Bo-ring.

Nutz Over Chocolate
My Rating- 1/5 stars

IMG_6718

This bar is oh so good.  There is a lot going on in this bar, but it all mixes together so well.  What is so unique about this bar is the complexity of the flavors.  There is a hint of coffee flavor that enhances the chocolate and caramel so well.

IMG_6727

The base of the bar is made with the crunchy chocolate grain mix with some pieces of walnuts scattered throughout.  It is then topped with a layer of velvety caramel and drizzled with some more chocolate.

IMG_6725

You cannot go wrong with this bar.  No wonder it has been a “Luna classic” for so long!

Caramel Nut Brownie
My Rating- 4/5 stars

Now, it YOUR turn.

  • What is your favorite Luna bar flavor?
  • If you had to suggest a flavor for a protein bar company, what would it be?

Stay tuned for more Luna Bar reviews!

blog signature

One thought on “Luna Bar Review- Part 3

Your thoughts here!

