Thoughts

Aspirations for 2015

Let me join in on all the lovely “year in review” or “resolutions for the new year”  posts.  I firmly decided some years ago that I would not and will not do resolutions for the New Year.  Why?  I have a couple of reasons.  First of all, there have been more failed resolutions than completed ones.  Second, I believe if  you want to better yourself in any way, you must do it now.

That being said, I do have some things I want to accomplish in the next 365 days.  They aren’t all big, and they shouldn’t have to be.  The little things in life take up the most room in our hearts.  If I don’t “complete” them all within that span of time, no worries.  Without further ado, my aspirations for 2015..

1. Read, read, and read.

2014 did not consist of a lot of reading, I am sad to say.  I’ve been stuck in a “reader’s rut”.  Have any of you had one of those?  When you can’t find anything intriguing to read and when you do read it seems strained?

I am determined to find some deliciously wonderful books and read until my eyes cannot read anymore.  Do any of you have book suggestions?  I would love to hear them!

2. Concentrate more on the present.

Charles Spurgeon once said, “Anxiety does not empty tomorrow of its sorrows, but only empties today of its strength.”  This cannot be more true.  I found that worrying about things to come or things that already happened took out the joy of today.

I want to concentrate on the day that I am living.  God already knows what is going to happen, so why should I worry?

3. Lay off the social media.

Ah, yes.  I too have fallen victim to the wonders (and pitfalls) of technology.  When I wake up, I go on my phone.  When I am bored, I go on my phone.  This needs to stop becoming a habit.  My goal is to spend less time on my phone and more time with more productive activites such as reading, studying, being with friends and family, writing, etc.

4. Blog more.

Yay for more posts! 😉

Who remembers Cookie from Ned’s Declassified?! I do!

5. Never stopping.

I will battle anorexia everyday.  I won’t stop.
Some days are going to be extremely difficult.  Some days will be easier.  Some days I will cry out in frustration.  Yet, I will wipe away the tears and keep moving forward.  Isn’t that what makes us stronger?

 

Tell me, what are some of YOUR 2015 “aspirations”?

blog signature

 

 

Gif Links:

Your thoughts here!

