Tutorials

How To: Perfect Tie Blanket

I am perpetually cold.  It doesn’t matter if it is a nice sunny day or when Jack Frost comes to visit.  I blame it due to my low blood pressure.  Getting back to my point, I hoard blankets.  I always have at least three on my bed just incase I get cold.

This year I was showed on how to make a tie blanket.  I made it with a club at my school for cancer patients undergoing chemotherapy.  Phil’s Friends is an organization that makes care packages for those battling cancer.  It my club’s job to make blankets to put in the care packages.  Let me tell you, it was so much fun!  Not to mention, you feel great knowing that you helped someone in a hard place.  Check out Phil’s Friends page right here.  Phil’s story is truly spectacular, and I am blessed to say that I personally met Phil and heard about his mission through him.

My first tie-blanket

After undergoing the process for the first time, I learned a few tips and tricks to help you make the perfect tie blanket, every time!

How To Perfect Tie Blankets

Materials Needed:

1.5 yards of your main pattern fleece
1.5 yards of your contrasting pattern fleece
sharp pair of scissors
piece of paper
ruler

IMG_6549  I’m making a blanket for my dog, so I used this super cute heart and bone fabric.  I matched it with a soft yellow fabric to go on the bottom.

With the piece of paper, cut it into a 4 inch by 4 inch square.  This will be your template for the corners.  I used some fabric for the template.

IMG_6562

Lay the two pieces of fabric on top of each other as evenly as possible.  They will most likely be uneven.

IMG_6554 IMG_6558

Both fabrics have a “salvage”.  The salvage will either be a “label strip” on the side of a fabric.  Or it will be a course hard edge of the fabric.  Cut the salvages off both pieces.

IMG_6557  Tip: The salvage doesn’t have the pattern on it.

Then, cut the two pieces of fabric so they are equal length on all the sides.  Like so:

IMG_6559  –> IMG_6560

Next, take your template and place it on a corner.  Then cut around the template.

IMG_6563 IMG_6565

Repeat on the other 3 corners.

The hard part is done!  Now, on to the cutting and tying.

Line a ruler on the top of the corner’s edge.  This will be how long you will cut the fringes.

IMG_6569  Now, make one inch cuts along the side.

Once you make about 7-10 fringes, I suggest you starting tying them.  I use a double knot.

IMG_6570 IMG_6573

Repeat until you reach the end of one side and keep going!

IMG_6575

It is so very simple to make.  Once you make one, it gets easier every time.  And they are a fast project!  I got it done in about and hour and a half.

This is the finished result:

IMG_6582

Gus seems to like it, too. 🙂

IMG_6589 IMG_6591

There are so many different styles that you can do..  here are some that I already made:

IMG_6584 IMG_6586

I hope you all enjoyed it!  If you do make one I would love to see them.  You can comment down in the bottom or tweet me at @sweetlypetite

– Alison

4 thoughts on “How To: Perfect Tie Blanket

Your thoughts here!

