Recipes

Zucchini Bread Recipe

A lil’ intro… I love to bake.  I have been baking since I was young.  I would bake wonderful cookies with my mother and eagerly await to lick the beater.  My sister and I would fight over doing different jobs (pouring the chocolate chips, cracking the eggs, measuring flour, etc.)  Needless to say, I have very fond memories with my mom and sister that revolve around making a delicious masterpiece.

My grandma has a garden, and she brought a ton of zucchini over.  I’m not a big fan of zucchini just plain, so get ready for some zucchini recipes!

I love bread, actually, that is an understatement…  I am kind of obsessed with bread.  I make homemade bread from scratch and I love every bit of the process despite the hard work.  Well, zucchini bread is an easy recipe that requires a few pantry staples and a couple of zucchinis.

Sweet, delicious, and warm, zucchini bread is a delectable treat!

IMG_3790

Zucchini Bread

  • 2 sticks of butter
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 cups grated zucchini
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • optional: nuts, dried fruit, chocolate chips (I used 1/2 cup of chopped pecans)

Preheat your oven to 350*.

In a mixer, combine the butter and sugar together.  Save the butter wrappers!!  Beat it until it is light and fluffy.  When you are done with every step, make sure to scrape the bowl down!

IMG_3763 IMG_3764

Add 3 eggs one at a time.  Once you add in all of the eggs, put the vanilla in.

IMG_3766IMG_3774

It should look a little something like this:

IMG_3775

Now, dump in the zucchini!  And mix it on low until just combined.

IMG_3776

Now, in a separate bowl and colander, sift together the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

IMG_3777 IMG_3778

Slowly, add the dry mixture to the wet mixture.  Mix on low until well combined.

IMG_3781

 

Now, if you want some goodies inside, this is the time to put them in!  I used some pecans.  To “chop” them, I put them in a plastic baggie and pounded them with a meat pounder until the texture looked like this:

IMG_3783 IMG_3784

By hand, mix the desired nuts, chocolate, fruit in.

IMG_3785

 

Using the packaging from the butter, grease and flour 2 loaf pans.  To do this, take the wax from the butter and rub it inside the bottom and sides of the pan.  Then, take a sprinkle of flour and shimmy it around until it covers the butter.

This is very important if you don’t want your bread to stick!  If you are looking for a lighter option, you may use cooking spray.  Oil would work also.

Pour half of the batter into each loaf pan.

IMG_3786 IMG_3787

Pop them in the oven for about 50 minutes, rotating half way through.

Once they are done, let them cool.  Once cool to the touch, slip the loaves out and let them sit on a wire rack.

Enjoy your scrumptious zucchini bread!

IMG_3794 IMG_3795 IMG_3802

Your turn!  What is YOUR favorite type of bread?

Love,

A

Your thoughts here!

